h1

Time and Patience

November 19, 2007

The two words in the English language which cause me to cringe and scream are time and patience.  A few years ago I had a wonderful old man I didn’t know tell me I needed to learn these things to make my life better.  Especially my love life.  I didn’t think he knew what he was talking about but now I know he was right.  If you can’t wait for things to happen they won’t happen like they are supposed to.

I learned this is true when it comes to my love life.  About the time this man told me this I was looking at getting into a relationship with someone I knew for a couple of years.  We both had some things which were keeping us from being together and I was getting impatient with waiting for him.  It wasn’t like I didn’t have something holding me back but I wanted him to hurry and take care of his situations so we could be together. 

Well, he took care of his end of the bargain but then their was me.  I was dragging my feet and this drove him nuts.  He then told me we could never be together unless I dealt with this situation.  I got right on it.  He took care of his problems and here I was dragging him along with mine.  This wasn’t fair. 

Well I began taking care of my problems right away and as of next month all my problems will be gone.  I know this doesn’t change things between us.  He has moved on and is seeing someone else now.  I do really miss him and my heart breaks when I think about all that I lost.

I wish I could change things.  He has a wonderful family and a great group of friends.  All the things I needed in my life.  Now I will have to wait until I can find it again.  I guess you never know how things will turn out in your life and there is no predicting the future and I can tell you from experience that if you want things to work out you need to learn to wait for it.  Some day it will turn out the way it is supposed to. And you can’t rush perfection.

Leave a Reply

