h1

Quiet Time

November 11, 2007

I know this is amazing and is definitely worthy of a post.  On Saturday, I called my mother and asked her if she could take my kids for the night as well as my cats so they could get a wonderfully long deserved bath.  She said yes and didn’t even complain.  I didn’t even wonder why she said yes but then again maybe this is her way of trying to be nice to me.

Over the last couple of weeks we have been arguing with each other over the stupidest things.  She told my children things which don’t pertain to them.  There are many more things she has done but if you want to know what those are read my previous posts to understand.

Anyway, she was pleasant even today.  She must love me or something.  This morning she left bright and early going to the local discount store.  While there she pick up a newspaper for me and some things for my cats.  The cats she wanted me to get rid of she, instead buys things for them.  This afternoon, she helped give them a bath and let them wander around her house while they dried.  She loved up on them and they loved back.  I think she’s lonely.  She needs some company.  Now I can’t wait for my brother to get out, so she’ll have someone to keep her company.

This isn’t the only surprise for the day.  My other brother took my kids to church with him.  I’m starting to think hell is freezing over.  When both my mother and brother are nice to me, this is the only explanation.  Really what other explanation could there be.  I guess it could be the beginning of the holiday season and they figure Santa won’t come unless they are nice.  Well whatever it is I am happy.  How can I not be happy? 

Kindness is exactly what I have been needing in my life lately.  People to actually give a rats ass.  There are to many people in this world who only give help when it gets them something.  Look at the good I did.  It’s kind of like the cat leaving something dead on your doorstep or the little kid who wants a treat for going poop in the potty after they drug you the whole way into the bathroom to look at the tiny turd in the little toilet on the floor.  This wouldn’t upset me so much but when no one is watching these same people are the first to turn their backs on you when you genuinely need help.  

I guess I should really learn to stay focused when I write.  The original point of this post was quiet.  My younger children stayed with my roommate’s family so it was just my roommate and myself.  It was nice to have quiet.  There was no arguing, fighting, running, screaming, or any of the other things my children tend to do which drive us nuts. 

I forgot what it was like to have silence.  Then again as far as my kids go I haven’t really had silence since they were born.  When they do go and spend the night somewhere else I spend my time recovering from the constant noise and busy-ness of having them around.  Usually my time is spend cleaning up after them when they are away or running errands I can’t do with them.  This time it was different.  They cleaned up their messes before they left so I had all the time they were gone to unwind. 

It it amazing how easy it is to unwind when you don’t have anything going on.  I caught up on my sleep, something I have been meaning to do for awhile now.  This has made me smile and feel upbeat about life.  I know this may not last long but at least I have it for now, which is more than I can say for some people.

I guess you take what is dished out and if you learn something from it you grow and move on to your next step in life.  I’m getting ready to step on out.

Leave a Reply

