h1

Children and Roommates

May 11, 2007

Sometimes even adults need a time out.  Today my children decided to upset my roommate.  First my oldest son, he is suppose to do laundry.  Suppose to and does are completely different things.  He tends to screw off until we have so much laundry dirty he will never get caught up.  Then there is my daughter.  She can’t seem to get her stuff together.  She has become a snotty little girl and I don’t like it. 

I have no idea how to change them.  Of course my roommate is frustrated and I’m not sure how to help her.  She is at her wits end.  She loses her temper and yells at them.  I know she isn’t use to kids who don’t listen and I’m trying to help her with dealing with my kids. 

I don’t know what to do.  They don’t want to listen.  GRRRR!!!!  This wouldn’t be so horrible but they have begun to rub off their bad behavior on their little brothers.  Now my younger two boys don’t want to listen to us.  They argue and hit each other all the time.  I’m not sure what to do.

It would be different if punishing them worked but it doesn’t.  We have taken away their toys, radios, tv.  We have kept them from doing fun things outside of the house.  Nothing works.  Were should I turn.  I don’t want to be like my parents.

My parents believed in spanking.  I try very hard to work things out so I don’t have to lay a hand on my children.  Granted this doesn’t always work out.  The possibility of having the social services called on me  scares me away from it.  My parents didn’t care.  My mom would hit just because.  As an adult she is still a hitter.  She doesn’t see anything wrong with smacking someone in the back of the head.  She doesn’t even have to know them.  She has smacked strangers there as well.

Now she encourages my kids to hit me there.  Great even more disrespect.  When will it all end.  I’m hoping soon.  I don’t know how much more of this I can stand.  I’m looking for any way to change this.  Maybe I’ll find it before they all become juvenile delinquents.    

Leave a Reply

